A prompt for change

The place where God calls you is where your deep gladness meets the world’s hunger. – Frederick Buechner

This quote came up during our usual connect Wednesday nights with the girls at Brunetti’s. For some reason, this quote really gets to me and I have no idea why. The girls were discussing it terms of “you can imply that Christ-centered love to anything”. Tori was speaking about how she feels like she’s been called to the design and fashion industry and to counter the despair in society’s hold in materialism and girls growing up dressing in a certain way to become more appealing sexually. Her friend is an accountant and she feels like that’s how she help people. Everybody helps each other in different ways and we all bring different things to the world. There are so many ways to interpret it this quote. The only thing I can pick up is that our deepest gladness is to meet the world’s hunger. In other words, the deepest joy we can have will be helping other people and that is what God is calling us to do. It makes me question a lot about what I’m doing with my life. Am I doing enough? What direction should I head towards. It highlights the importance of compassion, love, forgiveness and kindness. It makes me realize that my life is not about me, it’s about helping other people. And that’s hard to swallow in a society that constantly prompts us to question what it is that WE want, what is it that WE like, where is it that WE want to go, what is it that WE want to do and it’s all about us. A generation of consumer-minded, entitled-mentality people. When I met Stan Walker in Sydney, he said “once you realize it’s not about you, God promotes you more.” Ironic because the sentence literally says get over yourself and you yourself will receive more. But it makes sense now. That by realizing it’s not about you, it’s about others, that is where our ‘deep gladness’ is. I can only hope and pray to become a more compassionate and gracious woman. I need to learn to be selfless. I learn a lot at church. I learn that winning is not what’s most important. I learn to let other people go first. I learn to sacrifice and give up things so that someone else can have a go. Things I don’t learn in the world. I really need to start taking that and bringing it my relationship with people. What an eye-opener of a quote to prompt a change!

About jaz

Life and whatnot. Intoxicated with expectation.
This entry was posted in My walk with God and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.